View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version


of the

Watertown Historical Commission

Thursday, May 8, 2008

Council Chambers


Historical Commission Members Present:

Russo, Roach, Jones, Berg, Light


Staff Present:  Hayward, Collins


Public Present:  See attached Sign-In Form


The meeting opened at 7:30p.m.


1.                  April Minutes – adopted.


2.                  2008 Preservation Nominations and Awards


The HC reviewed the following nominees and made the following award determinations:


Award Determination

Nominee/ Nominated Category


The Service to Youth Award

Audrey Jones Childs /Services to Youth

For designing a coloring book titled “Early Watertown 1630-1776” used in Watertown’s 3rd grade classrooms.

The Richard E. Mastrangelo Award

Historical Society and Watertown Bicycle and Pedestrian Committee/Community Spirit Award

For the  “Past, Present & Future” self guided bicycle tour of important historic sites of Watertown


Historical Society of Watertown/Environmental Preservation Award

Edmund Fowle House restoration.

The Historic Resources Award

Historical Society of Watertown/The Architectural Preservation Award

Edmund Fowle House restoration.

The Citizenship Award

Karl Huntington Neugebauer/Citizenship Award

For his creation of the Historical Society of Watertown’s web site & Watertown Town Crier.

The Community Spirit Award

Mari Ryan/Citizenship Award

Watertown Walks Program

The Architectural Preservation Award

271 Mount Auburn Street/Architectural Preservation Award

To Lawrence and Christine Aufiero for the restoration of their home which is located in the historic district.

The Environmental Preservation Award

Carole Smith Berney/Environmental Preservation Award

For her production of “The Green World of Watertown” slide and music show.


Award Determination

Nominee/ Nominated Category


The Community Spirit Award

Watertown Provincial Guard/Community Spirit Award

For promoting Watertown’s colonial and revolutionary history through their presentations in period attire.

Certificate of Appreciation

Mary O’Looney

Retiring HC Member – 2 years.

Certificate of Appreciation

Roberta Lane

Retiring HC Member, Chair and Vice-Chair, 4 years.


The 2008 HC Awards Ceremony is scheduled at the Commander’s Mansion, Thursday, June 5, 2008 at 7pm.


3.                  Cable TV Show – Roach informed that there is a discussion about developing a cable program on houses in Watertown featuring their history and architectural features produced by Century 21.  One episode is to highlight the Fowle House.


4.                  Coolidge School Parking Issue – Russo reported that he had been approached by a citizen neighborhood group requesting the HC’s support on a parking issue at the Coolidge School development.  He felt this issue was not within the HD interest or jurisdiction.


5.                  9 Winter Street – Russo noted that based on his research the property has not been purchased.  He reported that the property has been condemned by the Health and Fire Department.  However, the Building Department has not condemned it.  The property owners will not allow access to the property by potential buyers.  Apparently the Purchase/Sale is on hold until the buyer obtains access to the building.


6.                  Fowle House – Roach reported that the Fowle House will be dedicated on Saturday, May 17 at 11:45am.  The celebration will be from noon to 3pm.


Meeting adjourned at 8:30 pm.