Community Preservation Committee


Apply for CPA Funding  FY2022

How to Apply


Project Eligibility Form Due
October 4, 2021
Notification of Eligibility
October 11, 2021
CPA Funding Application Due
December 10, 2021
Applicant Presentations
February 2022

CPA Application Workshop PresentationView August 31, 2021 Application Workshop

Community Preservation Act Description

The Community Preservation Act (CPA) was approved by the legislature and signed by Governor Paul Celucci in September 2000. This state law, MGL Chapter 44B , allows cities and towns to raise funds through a surcharge on local real estate taxes to:

  • buy, create, preserve open space and rehabilitate and/or restore open space that is  acquired or created using CPA funds;
  • acquire, preserve, rehabilitate, or restore historic resources;
  • acquire, create, preserve, and support community housing; and
  • acquire, create, preserve, and rehabilitate and/or restore passive and active outdoor recreation facilities.

In addition to the community’s tax surcharge, the state distributes annual matching funds that are not less than 5% and not more than 100%, funded by a surcharge on real estate transactions at the Registry of Deeds.

Adoption and Funding of the CPA

The residents of Watertown voted to adopt the Community Preservation Act (CPA) on November 8, 2016. CPA funds are raised through a 2% tax surcharge on all real estate property tax bills with two exemptions:

  • the residential exemption on owner occupied residential property, and
  • residential property owned and occupied by any person who qualifies for low-income housing or low- or moderate-income senior housing. Please contact the Assessor’s Office for further details or look at the  Watertown CPA Exemption Application Form.

These monies are an investment in Watertown’s future. All funding is controlled at the local level, committed to local projects, which preserve and improve the community’s character and quality of life.

Committee Meetings 

The Committee meets on the third Thursday of the month.  Meeting dates and times should be verified by reviewing the posted agenda or calling, prior to the scheduled meeting. 

  • When: Third Thursday of the month, unless otherwise noted and start at 7 p.m. 
  • Where: Town Administration Building, 149 Main Street, 3rd Floor Conference Room. (REMOTE ONLY at this time)


Agendas are available a minimum of 48 hours prior to the meetings:

Most Recent Agenda   View All


Minutes are available following approval by the Committee:

Most Recent Minutes   View All

The Community Preservation Committee (CPC)

On June 26, 2018 the Town Council adopted Town Ordinance #59 O-2018-59, Chapter 36: Community Preservation Committee establishing the nine-member volunteer Watertown Community Preservation Committee . Members serve 3-year terms which are initially staggered 1 to 3 years.

The Committee has three key responsibilities:

  1. to study Watertown’s needs, possibilities, and resources and then develop a Community Preservation Plan to guide its priorities and decision-making on project proposals. The CPC consults with other municipal boards and committees to get their input and holds one or more public informational meetings annually to solicit public input. This plan is updated annually.
  2. to establish an application process for project proposals from the community, to conduct a thorough vetting of the proposals, and to vote on a slate of project recommendations including specific dollar amounts of CPA funding sources to complete them. The CPC forwards these annual budget recommendations to the Town Council for action. Presentations are held describing how the projects serve the needs, interests, and goals of the CPA and of Watertown;  
  3. record keeping regarding all CPC meetings, proposals, and recommendations and annual budgetary reporting to the Town Council. The Town Council can approve, reject, or reduce the Committee’s funding proposals.

Committee Members

Nine members serve a 3-year term (initial terms are 1 to 3 years).

Member Member Type Address Term
Kraczkiewicz, Chair
Resident Appointee 77 Riverside St 02/01/2023
Jason D. Cohen,
Vice Chair
Planning Board 153 Common St 02/01/2023
Elodia Thomas Resident Appointee 67 Marion Rd 02/01/2024
Dennis J. Duff Resident Appointee 33 Spruce St 02/01/2023
Jamie O'Connell Conservation Commission 251 Common St 02/01/2024
Susan T. Steele Historical Commission 77 Russell Av 02/01/2024
Allen Gallagher Housing Authority 55 Waverley Av 02/01/2022
Bob DiRico Park Commissioners (acting) 124 Orchard St 02/01/2022
Jonathan M. Bockian Resident Appointee 165 Irving St 02/01/2022